A child sexual abuse charge is very serious. A person who is charged with child sexual abuse faces harsh penalties under Kentucky law. The penalties vary depending on a number of factors, such as the age of the child, the child’s injuries, and the alleged offender’s criminal history.
A 49-year-old man from Bowling Green, Kentucky, was recently charged with child sex abuse. According to police, the man shared sexual images of a 9-year-old boy over Skype. The boy in the pictures had stayed at the man’s home several times. The investigation is still ongoing, and police believe there may be other child victims involved.
Depending on the specific details of the case, the man could be charged with either a felony or misdemeanor. Kentucky law divides child abuse charges into three categories: first degree, second degree, and third degree. The categories vary depending on the offender’s mental state, such as whether the offender intentionally committed the act or recklessly did so.
Each category carries a different set of possible punishments. The penalties range from 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine for a first degree charge to one year in jail and a $500 fine for a third degree charge. In addition to imprisonment and fines, the man could be facing other penalties and consequences. If he is convicted, he could be required to register as a child sex offender and his contact with children may be limited.
If you have been charged with child sex abuse, you should speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Because of the serious nature of these crimes, it is important for you to fully understand your rights.
Source: WBKO, “Bowling Green Man Arrested for Sexually Abusing Child,” June 5, 2015
Related Posts: Think about how you will answer sex-related charges, Kentucky law forbids indecent exposure, Circumstances determine the defense options you have, All criminal charges, even sex charges, require a firm defense