Prostitution Can Lead to Criminal Charges in Kentucky
Dec. 5, 2019
Prostitution has been around for a long time, but it is illegal in Kentucky. People who are charged with it face a Class B misdemeanor. They can face a fine of up to $250 and up to 90 days in jail. While this might not sound like a harsh punishment, it is still a mark on the person's criminal record.
By law, prostitution in this state means that a person offers, agrees to engage in or does engage in sexual contact in exchange for money or another fee. The sexual contact must involve the sexual organs and be done for sexual gratification.
Another charge that is related to prostitution has to do with promoting it. This charge is a Class A misdemeanor that comes with up to $500 in fines and up to 12 months in jail. This crime means that the person profited from prostitution or helped the crime along.
There is a different set of penalties that's for a person who is associated with a house of prostitution. They face a Class D felony that comes with $1,000 to $10,000 in fines and one to five years in prison.
One point to note here is that a person who is under 18 years old can't be prosecuted for prostitution. Instead, the minor can be taken into custody, and a report is written. An investigation into the neglect, abuse or dependency of the minor is launched.
If you are facing prostitution charges, you need to work on your defense quickly. There are several options that might work, but you need to consider the circumstances before determining which one to use.